Ladies Auxiliary

History of Ladies Auxillary

          On Thursday, July 24, 1941, in Midland, Maryland, six representatives were present to form the Ladies Auxiliary to the Allegany-Garrett Counties Volunteer Firemen’s Association. Mr. Felix Foote, Sr., a member of Good Will Fire Company of Lonaconing, and also a Past President of the Bi-County Firemen’s Association, was the organizer. The six auxiliaries represented were Barton, Bloomington, LaVale, Lonaconing, Midland and Shaft. The first officers elected to serve the Auxiliary were Maude Kirk, Barton, president; Mary K. Donald, Lonaconing, vice-president; Zeta Somerville, Midland, secretary; and Marie Patterson, Shaft, treasurer. Mr. Foote generously donated, to the Auxiliary, their first money ($1.00) to start their treasury.

          Since organizing in 1941, Baltimore Pike has had four presidents; Barton-five; Bedford Road-two; Bowling Green-five; Bowman’s Addition-two; Clarysville-seven; Cresaptown-four; Deer Park-three; District 16-four; Eastern Garrett-two; Ellerslie-two; Flintstone-two; Good Will-eight; Grantsville-one; Kitzmiller-two; LaVale-five; McCoole-two; Midland-three; Mt. Savage-two; Oldtown-two; Potomac-one; and Shaft-two. A convention held in June, in conjunction with the Firemen, and a joint memorial service are held with participants from both organizations. A donation is made to the Bessie Marshall Benefit Fund of the Ladies Auxiliary to the Maryland State Firemen’s Association.

          All Past Presidents, Officers and Auxiliaries receive a copy of the Allegany-Garrett Counties Volunteer Fire & Rescue Association’s Bulletin. The Auxiliary also gives a cash donation to The Bulletin. Six of our Past Presidents have also served as President of the Ladies Auxiliary to the Maryland State Firemen’s Association, namely, Elda Schell, LaVale; Elizabeth Zembower Dickerson, LaVale; Nancy Growden, Bedford Road; Edna Hounshell, Cresaptown; Catherine Ware, Baltimore Pike; and Betty Grabenstein, District 16.

          The Auxiliary holds four meetings a year: September, December, February, and April and the convention in June. Their aim is to be of assistance to the Bi-County Fire & Rescue Association. Some of the ways we help are cash donations to their bulletin and helping with their Fire Prevention program; meeting in the form of a picnic which is hosted and served to the Past Presidents in August.

President- Debbie Shockey 301-463-6181 Good Will 
Vice President- Rose Schrug 814-634-8751 Eastern Garrett
Secretary- Pam Kyle 301-478-3065 Flintstone
Treasurer- Georgiann Shuhart 301-463-2138 Barton
Finacial Secretary- Jodi Ternent 301-463-3158 Friendsville
Chaplin- Tricia Blank 301-759-2584 Bedford Road
Historian- Shannon Schrug 814-634-8751 Eastern Garrett
Guard- Linda Teaford 240-362-3726 Bowling Green

Meeting Schedule

Sept. 20th, 2015- Friendsville
Nov. 8th, 2015- Flintstone
March 13th, 2016- Ellersile
April 10th, 2016- LaVale
June 4th, 2016 (Convention)- Potomac
Member Auxiliaries
Barton Hose
Bedford Road
Bowling Green
Bowman’s Addition
Deep Creek   
District 16
Eastern Garrett
Good Will
Mt. Savage
Northern Garrett


*Mary Carr, Bowling Green
Jane Ann McAlpine 301-463-6498

Peggy Zembower, LaVale
Allegany County: Mary Carr, Bowling Green
Garrett County: Tracey Simmons 301-746-7042

*Geraldne Dixon, Flintstone
Gertie Custer, Barton
Virginia Kellog, Flintstone

Allegany: Tracy Simmons
Garrett: Susan Reese

Fire Prevention
*Donna Struntz 240-727-0312
Carol Cassidy 301-729-1750
Kathy Knipple 301-639-6297
Tax Coordinator
Allegany County:
*Pam Kyle, Bowling Green

Rose Schrug
Jane Ann McAlpline
Ways & Means
*Peggy Michaels
Shirley Walbert

Bessie Marshall
Sharon Malone 301-689-8257
Wanda Coughenour 301-689-6345